Senior National Debate Championships

The Senior National Debate Championships is the recognized Canadian championship tournament for senior high school debaters. Competitors are selected by their provincial associations, usually at provincial championships.  The tournament host rotates around the country.

2019 Championships – Halifax, Nova Scotia

The 2019 Canadian National Debate Championships were held in Halifax, Nova Scotia from April 12-14th, 2019 at Sacred Heart School, 124 debaters took part and vied for the title of national champion. For the first time, all provinces were represented. The tournament was won by Amelia Hadfield and Jaylynn Barth from Brentwood College School (British Columbia). Sofie Finn Storan of Glenlyon Norfolk School (British Columbia) won the Harold Kyte Award as the best individual debater. 

Tournament History

The National Championships were started in 1998 by Sydney Academy in partnership with debate associations and schools from Manitoba, Nova Scotia, Quebec, Ontario, and Saskatchewan. Since then, the Championships has become recognized as the top competition in the country. tr>

YearHost SchoolCitySchoolChampions
2019 EnglishSacred Heart SchoolHalifax, NSBrentwood College SchoolAmelia Hadfield
Jaylynn Barth
2019 FrenchLower Canada CollegeMontreal, QC
2018 EnglishHoly Heart of Mary High SchoolSt. John’s, NFLDUniversity Toronto SchoolsAlykhan Jetha
Jonathon Liu
2018 FrenchHoly Heart of Mary High SchoolSt. John’s, NFLDUniversity Toronto SchoolsAndrei Comlosan-Pop
Nicole Richmond
2017 EnglishWest Point Grey AcademyVancouver, BCHalifax GrammarJack Farrell
Ben Gillis
2017 FrenchWest Point Grey AcademyVancouver, BCPort Moody SecondaryCorina Picui
Anna Saint
2016Walter Murray Collegiate InstitueSaskatoon, SKCrofton House SchoolTatiana Kurschner
Lily Kim
2015University of Toronto SchoolsToronto, ONWest Point Grey AcademyLloyd Lyall
Samantha Starkey
2014St. John’s-RavenscourtWinnipeg, MBWest Point Grey AcademyLloyd Lyall
Samantha Starkey
2013ADSACalgary, ABCampbell CollegiateNasra Moumin
Areeb Salim
2012Lower Canada CollegeMontreal, QCRichmond HillTae-Hu Kim
Anson Kwok
2011Sacred Heart SchoolHalifax, NSBranksome HallElizabeth Stratton
Anisah Mahomed
2010Glenlyon NorfolkVictoria, BCWest Point Grey AcademyJonathan Carson
Iqbal Kassam
2009Campbell CollegiateRegina, SKWest Point Grey AcademyJonathan Carson
Iqbal Kassam
2008William AberhartCalgary, ABWest Point Grey AcademyHelenaz Hajifattahi
Sean Husband
2007Upper Canada CollegeToronto, ONLower Canada CollegeMadeleine Ballard
Caroline Wagner
2006Lower Canada CollegeMontreal, QCLower Canada CollegeMadeleine Ballard
Corey Wolman
2004Newfoundland Student Debate UnionSt. John’s, NLSydney AcademySheldon McCormick
Blair MacDonald
2003William AberhartCalgary, ABLower Canada CollegeAlex Blank
Harry Schiff
2002St. John’s-RavenscourtWinnipeg, MBSt. John’s-RavenscourtRowan Dorin
Sara Robertson
2001Glenlyon-NorfolkVictoria, BCGlenlyon-Norfolk SchoolJessica Prince
Scott Murray
2000Ashbury CollegeOttawa, ONSt. John’s-RavenscourtElliot Tapper
Ben Wolinsky
1999Branksome HallToronto, ONSydney AcademyRory Gillis
Sarah Pottle
1998Sydney AcademySydney, NSAshbury CollegeAndrew Magnus
Tony Navaneelan

Resources and Contact

The National Championships uses the Canadian National Debate Format (CNDF), which is a blend of the Canadian Parliamentary and World Schools styles. It is described in the following documents:

The National Championships is governed by a committee independent of the CSDF which is chaired by the current tournament host. You can read the National Championships By-Laws (Revised 2014) and National Championships Board of Governors. You can also read minutes from past committee AGMs:


We appreciate and graciously thank all sponsors for their support of our Senior High National Championships each year!