Board and Officers

Each year at the National Seminar, a new Board of Directors for the Canadian Student Debating Federation is elected by the representatives of the member organizations. The Board is comprised of up to ten individuals and anyone nominated by a member organization can be elected to the Board. To ensure regional representation, the Board must contain at least one member from each of our four regions: the North (YK, NT, NU), the West (BC, AB, SK), the Centre (MB and ON), and the Atlantic (QC and the Maritimes) provided that willing candidates from each of these regions are available.

The membership elects a President, Director of French Language Debate and between five and eight other directors. Once elected, the Board has the responsibility for the appointment of officers, including Treasurer, Solicitor, Discipline Officer, Committee Chairs, Worlds Officer and Liaisons to external organizations as deemed necessary by the Board.

Throughout the year, the Board maintains contact with member organizations, coordinates with the upcoming Seminar Host, allocates funding under the McLeese Opportunities Fund and attends to administrative details required by the CSDF.

Past Presidents listing can be found here.

2020-2021 Board:

Debra MikoPresident, Speech and Debate CanadaABdmiko@csdf-fcde.ca
Richard PicotinDirector of French DebateQCrpicotin@csdf-fcde.ca
Jordan BurgDirector, Central, Secretary, TreasurerMBjburg@csdf-fcde.ca
Richard LetourneauDirector, The North NT rletourneau@csdf-fcde.ca
Kent AveryDirector, Atlantic; Team Canada Liaison; FNMI Outreach; 2022 Seminar Host PE kavery@csdf-fcde.ca
Jean-Francois TessierDirector, Quebec; Alumni; WebmasterQCjftessier@csdf-fcde.ca
Michael MacaraegDirector, Alumni; WebmasterMBmmacaraeg@csdf-fcde.ca
Elspeth EastonDirector, the West; FNMI OutreachBCeeaston@csdf-fcde.ca
Melissa OngDirector, 2021 Seminar HostSKmong@csdf-fcde.ca
Rob McLeeseDirector, McLeese Family; Speech and Debate CanadaONrmcleese@csdf-fcde.ca

2020-2021 Officers:

Brian CaseySolicitorsolicitor@csdf-fcde.ca
Tracey LeeWorlds Officertlee@csdf-fcde.ca
Jordan BurgDiscipline Officerjburg@csdf-fcde.ca
Debra MikoArchives Officerdmiko@csdf-fcde.ca
Mike MacaraegWebmaster – Englishmmacaraeg@csdf-fcde.ca
Jean-Francois TessierWebmaster – Frenchjftessier@csdf-fcde.ca

2019-2020 Worlds Committee:

Tracey LeeCommittee Chairtlee@csdf-fcde.ca
Joshua Judah teamcanada@csdf-fcde.ca
Graeme Berrington teamcanada@csdf-fcde.ca
Frankie Cena  teamcanada@csdf-fcde.ca
Jason Hong teamcanada@csdf-fcde.ca
 Kent AveryBoard Liaisonkavery@csdf-fcde.ca 
** Jason XiaoCo-Coach 
** Brent SchmidtCo-Coach 

Upcoming Debates

Canadian Student Debating Federation National Seminar 2021