The 2012 National Student Debate Seminar was held from Thursday, October 11th to Monday, October 15th, 2012 in Toronto, Ontario. The Seminar was organized by Rudi Lof and Kassie Dwarika of McLeese Debate and hosted mainly at Upper Canada College.

Student and adult delegates agreed that the Seminar was a great success! Students experienced three jam-packed days of debating rounds, workshops, cultural events and fun. Highlights included a Model Parliament at Hart House at the University of Toronto, a banquet at the Sheraton Centre in downtown Toronto, and a visit to the CN tower!


The Tom Lawson award (winners pictured to left), for epitomizing the spirit of the Seminar:
– Ben Peterson, NB and Hana Amer, NS
The Speaker’s Citation, awarded to the top parliamentarian in the Model Parliament:
– Raunak Gera, ON
Weedon award (top speaker): Jyotish Khanna, BC
Chief Justice of Canada award (top bilingual speaker): Jasmyne Kassam, BC
Founders’ Cup awards (top speaker from each province):
– Jyotish Khanna, BC
– Conrad Lowe, AB
– Emily Jackson, SK
– Benjamin Liu, MB
– Logan Ye, ON
– Philip Dubrofsky, QC
– Garret van de Wiel, NS
– Aidan Ingalls, NB
Mini-tournament champions: Jake Reedjik, BC & Aiden Ingalls, NB.

For more information and photos, visit the National Seminar 2012 page.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *