World Schools Debating Championships

Each year, the CSDF sends a team to represent Canada at the World Schools Debating Championships (WSDC). This tournament is hosted by a competing nation and is the highest level of high school debate in the world. Canada is one of the only nations to attend every WSDC since its inception and has traditionally performed very well in the tournament, last winning the Championships in 2010.

Team Canada is managed within the CSDF by a committee of experienced debate coaches, organizers and judges. The 2018-19 committee is chaired by Tracey Lee (BC) ( and consists of Wendy James, Vice Chair (SK) Joshua Judah (NS), Dylan Hardy (SK), Graeme Berrington (MB) and Debra Miko (AB).  Team Co-Coaches (2), Jason Xiao and Vacant serves as an ex officio-member.

If you are interested in being a part of Team Canada or looking for information on the selection process, visit our Selection Process page or email us at

Team Canada Policies and Other Documents, as of October 2017: