Team Canada 2018

Team Canada 2018 development squad attended a one-week training camp in Toronto, Ontario during August of 2017.  The full developing squad then went on to represent Canada at their first International Event – EurOpens in Stuttgart, Germany, November 2017, coached by Elizabeth Stratton (ON)

Unfortunately for our team, the PanAms were which was to be hosted in Lima, Peru was canceled this year.

Final Selection of the five students who will be representing Canada in Croatia are:

  • Andrew Yun (BC)
  • Adithya Chakravarthy (ON)
  • Anwyn Diakuw (SK)
  • Ashley Phord-Toy (BC)
  • Naomi Panovka (ON)

Attending as Observers are:

  • Angelina Zhang (BC)
  • Saara Meghji (BC)

Team Coach – Wendy James

Wendy James has attended a variety of the national and international tournaments as a coach, and her recent debaters in the last few years on Team Canada are Anwyn Diakuw, Jason Xiao, and Nic Carverhill.  In 1991 she debated on Team Canada.  Wendy currently serves as the President of the Saskatchewan Elocution and Debate Association and has been a long time member of the SEDA board regularly since she joined the board in 1991.

She is a former teacher and currently works as the Coordinator of Curriculum and Instruction in Saskatoon Public Schools. She’s currently defending a PhD in Curriculum Studies at the University of Saskatchewan.  

Wendy will be working with the Team Canada Committee to prepare the delegates for WSDC 2018 in Croatia and will coach the team at the event.  We welcome her onboard!


Team Canada would not be able to represent Canada without the generous support of the community. We would like to thank our generous sponsors, who help make it possible for the Team to compete around the world.

Team Payments

If you are a team member, you can make payments by E-transfer or by cheque. Contact to set up an E-Transfer payment, and please make cheques out to “CSDF” and send them to:

Canadian Student Debating Federation

PO Box 74158 – 148 – 555 Strathcona Blvd SW – Calgary, Alberta – T3H 3B6