National Seminar 2014

The 2014 National Student Debating Seminar took place from October 1st – 6th in St. John, New Brunswick. The CSDF was excited to work with Debate New Brunswick to celebrate the theme of Canada’s Confederation, Then and Now. The National Seminar each year together students from all around the country for a unique experience that blends debate education and cultural exchange.


Seminar Highlights

The 2014 Seminar was an exciting blend of debating, student exchange and cultural experience. Some highlights for the students included:

  • Scavenger hunt tour of Stone Hammer Geo Park
  • Speakers and a tour of CFB Gagetown
  • Mock parliament in the New Brunswick Legislature
  • Time at the St. John City market and in historic uptown
  • Debate workshops in multiple styles
  • A mini-tournament day to show off debate skills
  • A final banquet at UNB’s St. John campus.

Seminar Award Winners

Tom Lawson Awards: Awarded to the students who best embody the spirit of the Seminar.
Joel Morin, SK
Heba Eid, ON

Speaker’s Citation: Awarded to the top Parliamentarians.
David Weaver, BC
Heba Eid, ON

Top Speakers:
Weedon Trophy (English) – Kenneth Carmichael, NS
Governor-General’s Award (French) – Anthony Bourdon, QC
Chief Justice Award (Bilingual) – Zakir Kassam, BC

Founder’s Cup (top Speaker from each province):
Rebecca Hicks, AB
David Weaver, BC
Laia Shpeller, MB
Stephen Harvey, NB
Iam Browne, NL
Kenneth Carmichael, NS
Safiya Rajwani, ON
Anthony Bourdon, QC
Joel Morin, SK

Government of Canada Funding Grant

pch_logoAs for previous Seminars, the CSDF has secured a grant from the Government of Canada’s Exchanges Canada program which partially, if not fully, subsidized flight costs for all student delegates, as well as one adult per province or territory. This generous contribution allowed many students who could otherwise not attend for financial reasons to participate in the Seminar.