Board and Officers

Each year at the National Seminar, a new Board of Directors for the Canadian Student Debating Federation is elected by the representatives of the member organizations. The Board is comprised of seven individuals and anyone nominated by a member organization can be elected to the Board. To ensure regional representation, the Board must contain at least one member from each of our five regions: the West (BC, AB, SK), the Centre (MB, ON), the Territories, Quebec, and the Maritimes provided that willing candidates from each of these regions are available.

The membership elects a President, Director of French Language Debate and between five and eight other directors. Once elected, the Board has the responsibility for appointment of officers, including Bilingual Debate Officer, Treasurer, Solicitor, Committee Chairs, Worlds Officer and Liaisons to external organizations as deemed necessary by the Board.

Throughout the year, the Board maintains contact with member organizations, coordinates with the upcoming Seminar Host, allocates funding under the McLeese Opportunities Fund and attends to administrative details required by the CSDF.

2014-2015 Board:

Debra Miko President AB dmiko@csdf-fcde.ca
Richard Picotin Director of French Debate QC rpicotin@csdf-fcde.ca
Guillaume Laroche Director AB glaroche@csdf-fcde.ca
Amy Marlene Robichaud Director ON arobichaud@csdf-fcde.ca
Geoff Buerger Director NWT gbuerger@csdf-fcde.ca
Jordan Burg Director MB jburg@csdf-fcde.ca
Lindsay Spencer Director BC lspencer@csdf-fcde.ca
Emily Bonia Director NL ebonia@csdf-fcde.ca
Robert Bailey Director BC rbailey@csdf-fcde.ca

 

2014-15 Officers:

Lorelie DeRoose Treasurer lderoose@csdf-fcde.ca
Brian Casey Solicitor solicitor@csdf-fcde.ca
Chris George Discipline Officer cgeorge@csdf-fcde.ca
Tracey Lee Worlds Officer tlee@csdf-fcde.ca
Veenu Goswami Team Canada coach vgoswami@csdf-fcde.ca
Stephen McCarthy Webmaster smccarthy@csdf-fcde.ca