Board and Officers

Each year at the National Seminar, a new Board of Directors for the Canadian Student Debating Federation is elected by the representatives of the member organizations. The Board is comprised of seven individuals and anyone nominated by a member organization can be elected to the Board. To ensure regional representation, the Board must contain at least one member from each of our five regions: the West (BC, AB, SK), the Centre (MB, ON), the Territories, Quebec, and the Maritimes provided that willing candidates from each of these regions are available.

The membership elects a President, Director of French Language Debate, a Director of Bilingual Debate and four other directors. Once elected, the Board has the responsibility for appointment of officers, including Treasurer, Solicitor, Committee Chairs, Worlds Officer and Liaisons to external organizations as deemed necessary by the Board.

Throughout the year, the Board maintains contact with member organizations, coordinates with the upcoming Seminar Host, allocates funding under the McLeese Opportunities Fund and attends to administrative details required by the CSDF.

2013-2014 Board:

Debra Miko President AB dmiko@csdf-fcde.ca
Stephen McCarthy Past President BC/QC smccarthy@csdf-fcde.ca
Richard Picotin [bio] Director of French Debate QC rpicotin@csdf-fcde.ca
Guillaume Laroche Director of Bilingual Debate AB glaroche@csdf-fcde.ca
Sherry Nolan Director NB snolan@csdf-fcde.ca
Amy Marlene Robichaud Director ON arobichaud@csdf-fcde.ca
Lorelie DeRoose Director SK lderoose@csdf-fcde.ca
Geoff Buerger Director NWT gbuerger@csdf-fcde.ca
Jordan Burg Director MB jburg@csdf-fcde.ca

 

2012-13 Officers:

Lorelie DeRoose Treasurer lderoose@csdf-fcde.ca
Brian Casey Solicitor solicitor@csdf-fcde.ca
Josh Judah Discipline Officer discipline@csdf-fcde.ca
Tracey Lee Worlds Officer tlee@csdf-fcde.ca
Veenu Goswami
Liana Palko
Team Canada coaches vgoswami@csdf-fcde.ca
lpalko@csdf-fcde.ca
Stephen McCarthy Webmaster smccarthy@csdf-fcde.ca