Board and Officers

Each year at the National Seminar, a new Board of Directors for the Canadian Student Debating Federation is elected by the representatives of the member organizations. The Board is comprised of up to ten individuals and anyone nominated by a member organization can be elected to the Board. To ensure regional representation, the Board must contain at least one member from each of our four regions: the North (YK, NT, NU), the West (BC, AB, SK), the Centre (MB and ON), the Territories, and the Atlantic (QC and the Maritimes) provided that willing candidates from each of these regions are available.

The membership elects a President, Director of French Language Debate and between five and eight other directors. Once elected, the Board has the responsibility for appointment of officers, including Treasurer, Solicitor, Discipline Officer, Committee Chairs, Worlds Officer and Liaisons to external organizations as deemed necessary by the Board.

Throughout the year, the Board maintains contact with member organizations, coordinates with the upcoming Seminar Host, allocates funding under the McLeese Opportunities Fund and attends to administrative details required by the CSDF.

Past Presidents listing can be found here.

2017-2018 Board:

Debra Miko President, Western Canada AB dmiko@csdf-fcde.ca
Richard Picotin Director of French Debate QC rpicotin@csdf-fcde.ca
Jordan Burg Director, Central Canada MB jburg@csdf-fcde.ca
Laura Cole Director, Quebec and Atlantic Canada/Secretary NS lcole@csdf-fcde.ca 
Manu Goswami Director AB sgoswami@csdf-fcde.ca
Jean-Francois Tessier Director QC jftessier@csdf-fcde.ca
Gabriel Duguay Director NS duguay@csdf-fcde.ca

2017-18 Officers:

Brian Casey Solicitor solicitor@csdf-fcde.ca
Tracey Lee Worlds Officer tlee@csdf-fcde.ca
Lindsay Spencer Discipline Officer lspencer@csdf-fcde.ca
Archives Officer
Debra Miko Webmaster – English dmiko@csdf-fcde.ca
Richard Picotin Webmaster – French rpicotin@csdf-fcde.ca
Rob McLeese McLeese Foundation rmcleese@csdf-fcde.ca

2017-18 Worlds Committee:

Tracey Lee Chair teamcanada@csdf-fcde.ca
Joshua Judah
Dylan Hardy
Debra Miko
 Coach