Board and Officers

Each year at the National Seminar, a new Board of Directors for the Canadian Student Debating Federation is elected by the representatives of the member organizations. The Board is comprised of seven individuals and anyone nominated by a member organization can be elected to the Board. To ensure regional representation, the Board must contain at least one member from each of our five regions: the West (BC, AB, SK), the Centre (MB, ON), the Territories, Quebec, and the Maritimes provided that willing candidates from each of these regions are available.

The membership elects a President, Director of French Language Debate and between five and eight other directors. Once elected, the Board has the responsibility for appointment of officers, including Bilingual Debate Officer, Treasurer, Solicitor, Committee Chairs, Worlds Officer and Liaisons to external organizations as deemed necessary by the Board.

Throughout the year, the Board maintains contact with member organizations, coordinates with the upcoming Seminar Host, allocates funding under the McLeese Opportunities Fund and attends to administrative details required by the CSDF.

2014-2015 Board:

Debra Miko President AB
Richard Picotin Director of French Debate QC
Guillaume Laroche Director AB
Amy Marlene Robichaud Director ON
Geoff Buerger Director NWT
Jordan Burg Director MB
Lindsay Spencer Director BC
Emily Bonia Director NL
Robert Bailey Director BC


2014-15 Officers:

Lorelie DeRoose Treasurer
Brian Casey Solicitor
Chris George Discipline Officer
Tracey Lee Worlds Officer
Veenu Goswami Team Canada coach
Stephen McCarthy Webmaster