Board and Officers

Each year at the National Seminar, a new Board of Directors for the Canadian Student Debating Federation is elected by the representatives of the member organizations. The Board is comprised of up to ten individuals and anyone nominated by a member organization can be elected to the Board. To ensure regional representation, the Board must contain at least one member from each of our four regions: the West (BC, AB, SK), the Centre (MB and ON), the Territories, and the Atlantic (QC and the Maritimes) provided that willing candidates from each of these regions are available.

The membership elects a President, Director of French Language Debate and between five and eight other directors. Once elected, the Board has the responsibility for appointment of officers, including Treasurer, Solicitor, Discipline Officer, Committee Chairs, Worlds Officer and Liaisons to external organizations as deemed necessary by the Board.

Throughout the year, the Board maintains contact with member organizations, coordinates with the upcoming Seminar Host, allocates funding under the McLeese Opportunities Fund and attends to administrative details required by the CSDF.

2015-2016 Board:

Debra Miko President NS dmiko@csdf-fcde.ca
Richard Picotin Director of French Debate QC rpicotin@csdf-fcde.ca
Geoff Buerger Director, Western Canada SK gbuerger@csdf-fcde.ca
Jordan Burg Director, Central Canada MB jburg@csdf-fcde.ca
Sean Mulhearn Director, the North NWT smulhearn@csdf-fcde.ca
Emily Bonia Director, Quebec and Atlantic Canada NL ebonia@csdf-fcde.ca
Bonny Hubley Director NS bhubely@csdf-fcde.ca
Nicole Ratti Director ON nratti@csdf-fcde.ca
Swarochish Goswami Director ON sgoswami@csdf-fcde.ca
Chris George Director QC cgeorge@csdf-fcde.ca

2015-16 Officers:

Bonny Hubley Treasurer bhubely@csdf-fcde.ca
Brian Casey Solicitor solicitor@csdf-fcde.ca
Chris George Discipline Officer cgeorge@csdf-fcde.ca
Steven Penner Alumni Coordinator spenner@csdf-fcde.ca
Tracey Lee Worlds Officer tlee@csdf-fcde.ca
Aislin Flynn & Iqbal Kassam Team Canada coaches
Stephen McCarthy Webmaster smccarthy@csdf-fcde.ca

2015-16 Worlds Committee:

John Robinson Chair jrobinson@csdf-fcde.ca
Joshua Judah Vice-Chair jjudah@csdf-fcde.ca
Tracey Lee
Lindsay Spencer
Deirdre Casey
Geoff Buerger